Back to Top
Hunter TAFE Awards
A celebration to honour the outstanding achievements of students and industry, the TAFE NSW Hunter and Central Coast Excellence Awards provide an opportunity to recognise the achievements of our students for their exceptional commitment to their studies and their contribution to their industry and the community.
The Excellence Awards are held in May each year, and comprise of a line-up of awards including 19 Industry-sponsored awards, Apprentice and Trainee of The Year Awards, excellence awards, TAFE NSW Ambassador Prizes, the TAFE NSW State Medals and Statewide Awards.
The pinnacle of the ceremony, the prestigious Student of The Year – Medal of Excellence award recipient is selected from the 19 Industry Award winners and is seen as the most outstanding student from the previous academic year.
In 2016, Oliver Bamford was named the Hunter TAFE Student of The Year and Medal of Excellence award winner, and Samuel Munt received the Highly Commended Award. Please see the full list of our Hunter TAFE Award Winners below -

2016 Hunter TAFE Student of the Year and Medal of Excellence - Oliver Bamford
2016 Highly Commended Award - Samuel Munt
2016 Apprentice of the Year Award - Cejay Alsop
2016 Trainee of the Year Award - Katherine Roworth
2016 Industry Partnership Award - Central Coast Local Health District

Emerging Talent Award - Peter Ives
Sub-Foreman, North Construction, Central Coast
Contribution to Community Award - Andy Meier
Director, Strategic Minds Communications
Contribution to Business Award- Dr Melanie Hayes
Lead Lecturer Dental Hygiene, University of Melbourne

Khadijeh Ebrahimi, Venus Schey, Tatiana Shepeleva, Sam Lightfoot, Benjamin Saxon
and Thomas McLoughlin

Oliver Bamford - Design Award, Thomas Goodwin - Education for Careers and Further Study Award, Roslyn Daly - Business Award, Benjamin Corrigan - Information Technology Award, Katherine Roworth - Children's Services Award, Sharon Furby - Community Health and Wellbeing Award, Samuel Munt - Creative Industries, Fashion and Media Award, Alexandra Brown - Hair and Beauty Award, Zoe Saunders - Food Services and Hospitality Award, Shari Nichol - Tourism, Events and Outdoor Recreation Award, Holly Smith - Animal Studies Award, Neil Ramsay - Environment Award, Nathan Jones - Building Industries Award, Ferran Thornycroft - Science Award, Simon Blackmore - Maritime and Marine Award, Dylan Bolch - Manufacturing an Engineering Award, Aaron Fogarty - Plant and Heavy Vehicle Award and Lachlan Richards - Paint and Panel Award

State Medals - Neil Ramsay and Ferran Thornycroft
State-Wide Award - Ferran Thornycroft

Zoe Saunders - Diploma of Hospitality, Bradley Burgoyne - Certificate IV in Marketing and Jodie Flanagan - Certificate III in Commercial Cookery
As part of the Excellence Awards, three Alumni Awards are presented. Introduced in 2013, the awards recognise and celebrate the contribution that our Alumni make across the region, and are awarded in three categories – Contribution to Business, Contribution to Community and Emerging Talent.
We would like to acknowledge the 2016 Award event partner, Out of The Square Media​ and Alumni Awards Gold Sponsor NSF Super​.

Sponsor a Hunter TAFE Award

​Please email our Events Team to become a sponsor or call on 02 4923 7979.